100th Post!

Welcome, gentle reader, to the 100th post on Big Sushi, Little Fishes! I started this blog back in September of 2011 with a post about Typhoon Roke: “Meters away, Typhhon [sic] Roke huffs and puffs and threatens to blow our house down.” So, that’s 100 posts over two and a half years, almost. Not quite one a day, but not bad, either, especially given that I actually have two other blogs, and in particular post to Exit Booted about travels outside Japan.

So, here’s a few stats from the WordPress ‘dashboard’ for Big Sushi, Little Fishes:

Total Number of Views: 8,443

Most views on a single day: 97

Comments: 88 (thank you!)

Followers: 50 (thank you!)

Shares: 16 (and thank you again!)

– top shares include, at two shares each, ‘little snail, slowly slowly climb mount fuji (re-write)’ and Yakushima + Sigur Ros’ Mystery Film Experiment’

The most viewed posts include

‘Happy New year 2014: The Year of the Wooden Horse’ (345)

‘About’ (247 – hopefully that’s not all just students cyber-stalking their teacher :-))

‘Shinjuku Drift: Golden Gai’ (118)

and again, at 108 views, ‘little snail, slowly slowly climb mount fuji (re-write)’

So what’s in store for the future of Big Sushi, Little Fishes? More of the same, I’m afraid. I enjoy my current project: a “psychogeography” of Tokyo. I started with Shinjuku, in the Shinjuku Drift posts, and plan to spend time exploring other areas. with notebook and camera in hand.  Next up: Roppongi Drift.

Maybe it’s the Canadian in me, but I remain fascinated by the weather, and will likely continue to blog about the extremes of heat, snow, and typhoons we’ve been experiencing in this age of global warming. ‘Interesting times,’ indeed.

Eventually I want to start longer form writing again, and return to personal essays and perhaps even stories. But for now, blog posts with photos suits me just fine.

So, thanks for reading, and I look forward to your company on this – still somewhat unexpected – adventure that is Big Sushi, Little Fishes!

4 thoughts on “100th Post!

  1. Congrats on your 100th posts, I’m only on my third! You got quite a bit of snow! You are more East than I am, we did get some snow, (ah, Snow…. natures glitter)! It melted as soon as it was beautiful enough to photograph!

    1. Ah, that’s too bad! Sorry you didn’t get a chance to photograph “nature’s glitter” (I like that! captures the look, of course, but also its decorative – and temporary? – nature) before it melted away. How far west of Tokyo are you? I spent a spring in Hiroshima; hard to imagine snow there…

Leave a Reply

