Japan Photo Drift: Ishigaki jima Island

Ishigaki-jima

Ishigaki jima, Yaeyama Islands Japan

My first winter break in Japan seventeen(!) years ago, while all my friends went off to Thailand, I spent a couple of weeks sleeping wild on Okinawa and Iriomote jima in the off season. Trip of a lifetime! One of I’ve written about elsewhere, and may soon also tell here on Big Sushi…

Meantime, in the spring of 2013, I finally made it back to the Yaeyama islands, this time to Ishigaki jima – with a day trip to Taketomi jima. While it was spring this time and not winter, we still hit it in the off season – which is how I like it anyway. Fewer crowds. More unstable = more interesting weather.

I shot most of these pictures with the Olympus E-P1 and – for reasons that escape me now, since I already owned a couple of fine prime lenses – the 14 – 42 kit zoom lens.

Ishigaki-jima Ishigaki-jima Ishigaki-jima Ishigaki-jima Ishigaki-jima Ishigaki-jima Ishigaki-jima Ishigaki-jima Ishigaki-jima Ishigaki-jima Ishigaki-jima Ishigaki-jima Ishigaki-jima Ishigaki-jima Ishigaki jima Ishigaki jima Ishigaki jima Ishigaki jima Ishigaki jima Ishigaki jima Ishigaki jima Ishigaki jima Ishigaki jima Ishigaki jima

4 thoughts on “Japan Photo Drift: Ishigaki jima Island

Leave a Reply

